Quick!

Just time for a late blog before bed.

Today has been one of those that flies by, work going like a quickly going thing until I called time for a mini duathlon.

Not the best day to decide to go for it, I must admit, what with the temperature finally achieving something that might resemble summer and that, but go for it I did.

So the first change was to running gear and 3 miles were had. Around the lanes, the highlight was a pair of greyhounds sprinting towards me at the top of Boughton Monchelsea, going well past before turning around and sprinting back at me. Not a chance of outrunning them, they were seriously fast. One ran straight past, the other slowed to my pathetic pace before being reunited with its’ owner. And a mile and a half later, having sweated my way up the last hill, I stopped the Garmin before a costume change into cycling shorts.

I’m not that fashion conscious, but draw the line at plums out of shorts, so it was essential. But took 8 minutes, along with getting the bike and having a quick drink.

The next leg is the first time i’ve used the Garmin on the bike on the way home. And a blast it was. Averaging 17.5mph for the 7.89 miles, the fastest was 36 for a quarter of a mile down the hill after the temporary traffic lights. And that with a first part of the hill being a series of car overtakes as they sat in traffic, before cutting onto the path to avoid the oncoming traffic, slowing to allow the last cars in the uphill queue to pass the lights before sprinting past and onward. So not a clean run-up and still well over 30. Very good.

All rounded off with pizza and scrabble.

Must dash, Gary’s got a train to catch.

Leave a comment