Daily Archives: February 9, 2010

Paving Slabs

I meant to run yesterday evening to give myself a bit of recovery but the discovery when I got in that I was up for the six o’clock finish (should have checked on Friday, I guess) put the mockers on that, so I went today instead.

To be true, the thought of a run in the snow wasn’t really inticing anyway and tonight had at least the benefit of being dry so I guess I should thank small somethings.

Anyway, I decided on a slow 4 miles to Morrisons and did it just over 30 seconds slower than last Thursday. My ankles were feeling a bit distressed so a plod was the order of the day. But the reduced pace alllowed my brain to work out why I found such a nice rhythm for a few yards last week. The same happened today. It’s because, around the mile and a half mark just as I got warmed up, a section of paving slabs opens up and they happen to draw me in with the length of stride matching the slabs in an accelerating effect. They’re slightly uphill, 500mm slabs (a bit smaller than standard 600mm items) and my footfall on the upslope appeared to be about 1150mm – every third stride, i’d gain an “extra” slab – the effect drew my eyes, made me smoother and pulled me along. Annoyingly, as I worked out that it really worked, I looked forward to the downhill section but it all fell apart. My stride got so long (i’ve always been criticised for my huge stride compared to my short frame) on the downhill, no decent rhythm revealed itself and when I shortened my stride, it felt like I was tottering along for no effect.

If London’s 26 miles were on small paving slabs, I reckon i’d have a chance of a sub 3 hour time. As it is, i’ll settle for four.

I used to have a similar feeling running past the 3m sections of railing/fence type stuff alongside Alexandra Park in Hastings, but in the downhill direction. I just don’t know why it’s taken me so long to realise what it is in Maidstone that feels different. Must be the slope because the seafront sections in Hastings didn’t have the same thing when  I ran on the paved bits there.

Hope it’s not some paving based obsession that’s drawing me in. With a good couple of months marathon training ahead of me, maybe i’ll find true insanity yet. Must keep the long runs confined to the country.

The loneliness of the long distance runner? Maybe insanity would be more apt.