1977

Yesterday evening, I forgot to mention, saw a man from a few decades ago finding his way home through Rye.

He seemed to be driving a Black Jaguar which has, in the past, been likened to a “Mike Baldwin” car. He had hair that has, over the past 14 months or so, morphed into a Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen crossed with James May type mess. He had a shirt that was skinny and hugged his body in a fashion that time forgot. And he was playing Crazy Train by Ozzy Osbourne which, while released in 1980, was certainly a product of the seventies.

It wasn’t entirely a bad look, but not one I’d choose for myself.

Which was odd, considering I found it to be me when I observed the oddity of the situation.

Today, the seventies theme continued as I completed the skateboard deck I’ve been working on. Here it is

complete with ACS 651 trucks, blue Kryptonic 70mm wheels and accessories straight from 1977 or thereabouts. The bearings need a good service, by the feels of them, but nothing I can’t sort over an evening.

I’ve got a gorgeous Fibreflex deck, GullWing HPG IV trucks and immaculate green Kryps as another board but don’t want to murder it while I rediscover my skate abilities so these wheels and deck are going to take a massive pasting over what’s left of the summer.

It might be a mid-life crisis, but by jiminy i’m going to enjoy it!

And Juneathon was achieved by taking the BMX to Halfords to buy some nylock nuts for the trucks so that I won’t be riding on two diagonally opposite truck baseplate fixings where the other two have vibrated right off the board. Unlike the ’70’s! The leg felt kind of ok, so i’m pleased enough to have agreed to meet a few idiots at Bedgebury tomorrow morning for a mountainbike play before too much heat gets into the day and I get out on the motorbike.

So, as I lower myself into the past, i’ve had a good day.

Leave a Reply

