Pace

In my continuing recuperation running programme I seem to have come up short on one or two items.

1) The formulation of a structured programme to measure progress.

2) Patience.

I want to be able to run cleanly and happily all over again but know it will be a massively long task. But Jogblog forwarded me a 5k race to enter in Rye (where I’m currently working) and, looking at the results from the last one, I instantly started looking at the 21 minute finisher mark for where I’d place. Which is probably about 3 minutes ahead of a realistic time even assuming I get as far as 3 mile runs by early September. I’m hoping, but if everything gets uncomfortable again, I fear I’ll take aeons to recover let alone get back on it.

Today I ran my 1.5 mile route again and I’m planning to try 3 small runs next week to keep a steady increase in running without the high stress of longer runs. About a mile per week increase seems good – I’m not hurting at all with it at the moment, my muscles are recovering well (so they should with a poxy mile and a half run each time but I’m aware that tired muscles will make me lazy with bounciness which might increase impact and lead to bone problems again, so call me paranoid but I’m not up for another fracture!) so I think I’ll continue.

My best goal is to get to the Ashford 10k on the same day as the Royal Parks Half. I had planned to storm it and try for a stupid quick (for me) time, but I just hope now to be able to compete and sneak under 50 minutes if possible – 6 miles of sub 8 minute mile will be a nice idea, I reckon, after 8 weeks of running.

I’ll see how it goes. I’ve challenged all the young pups at work to make it a bit of a works outing in the knowledge that they’ve got up to 20 years youth on me, haven’t been knackered through the summer and think themselves a bit tasty – all in a bid to give me a goal to aim for even if I get frustrated that I’m not back on form. Don’t know if many will take me up on it at this stage but it might prove fun, will keep me focused as long as I don’t get carried away and hurt myself (which won’t happen!) and should provide a fine social afterwards.

Fingers crossed.

3 responses to “Pace

  1. Good luck. The willpower to recover slowly is hard to marshall. I’m resisting charging ahead under physio’s orders… but hoping to get a programme from them I can keep to once I’m allowed to run again… hopefully this week!

  2. Good luck with your goals, I use a performance calculator to help me pace out my runs and where I should be aiming for. It’s really helped my progress this run and started off the year doing 10min milers and now breaking the 9min barrier. It helps to show you what pace you should run for a variety of runs including tempo, long, and easy pace. It also gives a range so you obviously start from the highest pace and work towards the bottom, the you could either reassess your goal or complete your race at that pace.

    Log on to the calculator, enter your goal time and the distance then it will comes up with all the calculations you need.

    Hope the healing continues well.

    http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm

  3. Building up your mileage after an injury is so annoying isnt it! I have been out for about seven months with tendonitis now and can only seem to run for 25minutes before the pain and swelling flares up and I have to hobble home.

    Take it easy mate!

Leave a Reply

