Daily Archives: June 8, 2011

Slow is smooth and smooth is fast

I’ve just deleted 750 words of shite bloggage so this will be sort!

The journey in was a struggle of trying to get weary legs to do what I wanted them to. It seems to be par for the course after two days and makes the prospect of a full 5 day week next week a bit worrying (taking Friday off in place of my missing Royal Wedding day). The day was ok but wearing and then the ride home loomed in to view.

Crisis tomorrow is making me try to preserve my legs but whatever I do, 120 miles old cycling legs aren’t going to run 3.5 miles very efficiently so it’s damage limitation, really. Especially when the two blokes from work goad me into a race through the town, me on a cycle and them in an Audi A3 and Skoda Octavia. Overtook both of them, the A3 twice, with the Skoda taking 1.5 full miles to repay my pass but the victory was hollow as the mantra of the title became “slow is smooth and smooth is slow” as I struggled over the final 4 miles home with little in my legs but gravy, it seemed.

Still, it was relaxed enough for me to stupidly whistle at sheep and sing daft songs to myself as I trudged along so all is reasonably well.

The figures are now 971.28 miles to go.

15.47 Juneathon running miles.

202.53 Juneathon cycling miles.

Not at all bad, really. 8 days in (Shit!! 22 days to go! Nooooooo!) and large goals being achieved. I hope my will to press on continues.

Crisis tomorrow so possible bloggage delay. You’ll soon find out (those who read this again after that effort, anyway).

