Slack-ish

My post Juneathon activity has been a bit slow, to be fair. A run on Tuesday has been combined with a week off the bike to alleviate feelings of boredom and hatred towards all things pedal-able which, along with two mid-week social outings, has kept activity to a minimum.

Yesterday saw a return to form-ish with a cycle to the paper shop, a superb outing to Hyde Park for a jog around the perimeter before the Juneathon picnic and follow-up pub visit (a few pints of Doom Bar went down very nicely on a July afternoon).

3 miles wasn’t enough to keep me bubbling along ready for a half marathon, though, so today saw a 6 mile outing on my favourite countryside loop past the best tree houses in the world, the local owl sanctuary and several fields. It was a bit warm this afternoon but the morning was filled with shopping and DIY, so was the only time remaining.

The other thing I’ve not had a chance to update on, and not had the opportunity to slip into a post, has been the purchase of two new running tops. I’ve been a fan of my Helly Hansen short sleeved tee (and been wearing it to death) for over a year now and, since it still performs perfectly I added another to my wardrobe. I have a winter warmth Ronhill top from a couple of Chrstmases ago that also gets a caning in the cooler weather but thought, with my increased cycling, I’d try a crossover top, hoping to combine a bit of wind stopping with a modicum of warmth. I hunted down and settled for a Ronhill half zip thing which I tested yesterday on the paper buying outing and perfectly it performed, too. Not too warm for a summer morning, a strong wind blowing against me on the way to the shop revealed it to arrest most of the blast which should make it pretty damned good in the winter months.

The purchases were from SimplySweat.com, a company JB used a short while ago and suggested for a try-out. And well worth it they are, too. A very well organised site, good images and descriptions, helpful sizing advice, everything I’d hope for in an online store. But with the added bonus of simply the best order update, information and delivery service I’ve ever experienced.

Chain Reaction were my previous benchmark (a cycle store based in Ireland who manage to do most things very cheaply, efficiently and with good back-up) and simplysweat easily match them from first experience.

JB was delighted to see some of the tops I looked at had a “Catwalk” option to see the product being modelled…the girls department doesn’t, but it’s clearly worth a look if you’re either interested in seeing the cut of the cloth or just fancy a perv at a fit bloke!

I’ll be using them again, for sure, and have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone…I’ve even added them as a link over on the right of the page in case my auto link loses the details. And that’s not a common occurrence.

So back to normality and next week will see a short run on Tuesday, a cycle to work Wednesday and some hill repeats on Thursday if all goes according to plan. Will see if it all works out.

463.15 miles to go.

Leave a Reply

